Posted on

Sharing is caring ( now shut up and gimme the last cup cake ).

I thought I’d post my reads for the last year.

Why ?

Because.

( I have nothing to blog about and I feel inadequate )

Honestly, maybe I’m trying to figure out what direction I should be going with my new project.

Or something smart like that.

Here are the books that have haunted/inspired/bored me.

In no particular order.

Clive Barker, Sacrament

Plays by Miller and others, Actor’s guide to the great American plays of the 40s and 50s

Phillip K Dick , Do androids dream of electric sheep ?-

Thomas Harris, Silence of the lambs

Maya Angelou, I know why the caged birds sing

Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre

Robert Louis Stevenson, Treasure Island

Steve Lopez,  The soloist

Dean Koontz,  Intensity

Jane Austen, Sense and sensibility ( only half of it, I almost barfed, I was so bored )

Plato, The republic

Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

Henry Miller , Tropic of cancer ( thank you Henry )

Randy Shilts,  And the band played on. ( LOVED IT )

Dean Koontz,  The servants of Twilight

Oscar Wilde, The picture of Dorion Gray and In Profundis

Tennesse Williams, The glass menagerie

Harold Pinter,  The birthday party

Maya Angelou, Singin’ and swingin’ and getting merry like Christmas

Ayn Rand, The romantic manifesto

Alice Walker,  The Color Purple

Jeannette Winterson, Oranges are not the only fruit

T.S. Eliot, The cocktail party

Carlos Fuentes, The death of Artemio Cruz ( my new favorite novel )

Lian De Pougy, My blue notebooks

Jon Rappoport, AIDS Inc, the scandal of a century

Martin Cruz Smith, Gorky Park

Oliver Tambo, Preparing for power

Stephen King, On writing

Rita Mae Brown, Rubyfruit jungle

Sarah Winters, Tipping the velvet

Dorothee Allison, Bastard out of Carolina

Sarah Shulman, Stage Struck : Theater, AIDS and the marketing of gay America

Horace Wadpole, The castle of Otranto

T.J. English, The Westies

Jamaica Kincaid, My brother

Jim Grimsley,  Dream Boy ( unforgettable )

Timothy James Beck, Someone like you

Mark Merlis, American Studies

Timothy James Beck, It had to be you

Wendell Ricketts,  Everything I have is blue

Arthur Miller, The Crucible

Marianne K. Martin, Never ending

Bernard Cornell, The pale Horseman

Joel Carmichael, Karl Marx, the passionate logician

John Goulet,  The human ape

Tenzin Gyatso, Mémoires du Dalai Lama

Fredrich Nietzche, The birth of a tragedy, and The genealogy of morals

Gorbatchev, Mes mémoires

After analyzing  that list, I’m left feeling a little bit CONFUSED. It’s like my Ipod play list. Where’s the line between eclectic and multiple personality disorder ?

Nine out of the ten voices in my head say I’ve crossed it.

About Mel

Montreal queer fiction writer.

Leave a Reply

