Posted on

Time keeps on slippin’ into the future…

Okay, so I quit smoking. HOLY SHIT. I never thought I’d do it. I always thought I’d be like my dad and smoke with resentment until forever and a day. I can’t believe I haven’t smoked for three weeks.

I’m never going back there again. I was a slave to it. It decided where I sat, walked, hung out.

I was so scared of quitting. I was afraid I’d learn something about myself I wasn’t prepared to face: that I couldn’t do something I set my mind to and I preferred living with the heart palpitations, headaches, weak lungs, than to fail at trying to quit.

I don’t know what happened this time. I don’t know why I was able to do it. But I guess I chose door number two this time around. I’ve spent the last decade thinking about my mom dying so young and in the back of my mind, I thought, “that’s how I’ll go too” and I kept staring down that door, counting the years to 46, almost resigned to my fate. And then, a person that has a lot of power over me still drew some tarot cards for me and it was intense and I quit the next day.

Which means, I’ll be around a little longer to write and pester you all.

On another note, I’m taking a long train ride to London–Ontario Canada that is–for my first reading EVER. I’m shitting nails over this. I am so fucking terrified of sitting up there and reading but it’s too late and the people organizing the event are so sweet and kind to me, so I will not back out on them and I will not let my anxiety ruin this.

I’ll post some details if ever any of you are in the area and want to come celebrate Pride in London and get a signed copy of one of my books.

I don’t post often so I’ll throw one last thing out there. My new romance is coming out next year and I wanted to share the cover and blurb with you.

When Allan’s boyfriend leaves him for a younger man, Allan lets him go without a grudge. When his sister, Elsie, gets pregnant and ditched, he becomes her support system and father figure to his niece.  

Then, Elsie becomes engaged to Dayton, and Allan meets Dayton’s older brother, his new brother-in-law, Davinder—a fierce and exceptionally gifted artist with a thousand secrets breathing in his eyes.  Davinder is a married man and father of two young boys.  

From the moment they meet, and for over four decades, Allan and Davinder will walk along the edge of their secret lives, never allowed to push open the gates. And though their love is a head on collision, a meeting of the minds, a fusing of two lost souls, both men know, that it is also, and above all…Impossible.

Take good care everyone x




Image

About Mel

Montreal queer fiction writer.

Leave a Reply

