Posted on

M is for Mighty and Magnificent.

Ever since I was a little girl, I had a crush on Maleficent. 

Later, I wanted to be Maleficent.

In Chinese astrology, I’m the Dragon, and too often, I’ve had to tame the powerful BEAST in me…In a conservative Italian family full of misogynist men, women can be lambs, mice and kittens, but dragons…not so much. 

So, with the years, I kept the dragon chained up in its cave, until it lost its mighty flame and could only puff and cough. 

There is a scene in the movie, where Maleficent cries out in fury and pain, and her sorrow moved me to tears. A woman scorned is what she became, but revenge can only fuel your fire for a little while…

In love she gets her wings back, and I wish I could get mine. We all start out as fairies, innocent and curious about our world, until we experience betrayal and pain. Some of us turn to dragons then.

Villains in our own stories.

But we are not only one thing. We are both fairy and dragon, villain,,, and hero. Image

The place where darkness and light meet, is where a human heart beats.

About Mel

Montreal queer fiction writer.

One response to “M is for Mighty and Magnificent.

  1. Great post, Mel! It’s great to see that the movie was what the trailer makes it to be. Having a connection with Maleficent must be interesting. She can be considered a very complex character. What do you think makes her be so alluring to have her own movie?

Leave a Reply

