Posted on

Where you’ll find him

les-boules-roses-14For anyone who knows Montreal in the summer, these little pink balls (I know I know) are very familiar and signify SUMMER FUN in the gay village. This is where I live and where I set my latest novel, Where you’ll find him, which I’m thrilled to announce will be out next year, with Dreamspinner Press.

I volunteer for a support line and face-to-face outreach center near my home, and have always been in and out of community work, at one time taking calls for the first AIDS help line. Throughout the years, I’ve met some fantastic people. People who literally work for peanuts and offer their time to help others in need. It’s a private sort of thing for me and one I don’t go around “bragging” about, but it’s an important part of my life that keeps me balanced, because let’s face it, when you write five or six hours a day, you spend a lot of time alone and going out there to do a shift at the center really helps me stay grounded and humble. It also nourishes my psyche in a way that eventually finds itself in my writing. Why am I bringing all this up?

Because I wanted to share these people with you. Needed to open that wonderful world of non profit up, and reveal its importance and beauty. I wanted to write about people who aren’t very “in” and don’t have prestigious jobs or trendy apartments, but who get up every morning to help make the world a better place. In the last fifteen years that I’ve been around these people, there was one man who stayed with me, in my heart. And though I haven’t seen him or his boyfriend for so many years, I still remember the impact he had on everyone he met. He was young, dedicated, funny, sensitive, and worked his ass off for little pay in a community center in the gay village.

I based my new character Wolfe Byrne on this guy and the story just took off. The novel is set in Montreal, at the fictional YBR center I also based on a real place some may recognize, and Wolfe Byrne is the young director trying to save the center from being closed by the board…

Love is the last thing on Wolfe’s mind. Until devastatingly handsome Gaspard walks up to his stand on Pride community day.  Freshly divorced, Gaspard is finally out of the closet as bisexual, and single again for the first time in thirty years. When he meets the young and beautiful director of the YBR center, Gaspard falls for Wolfe in a way he hadn’t been prepared for.  But twenty-four years separate them, and as events unfold, and relationships unravel, Gaspard fights himself, telling himself he must do the right thing.

But Wolfe has spent his life fighting for what he wants.. And what he wants is Gaspard…

I’m very excited about working with Dreamspinner on this one and hope you’ll be interested in meeting these two men next year, to experience their love and committed to each other. I loved writing this book and I think Wolfe and Gaspard will always hold a special place in my writer’s heart.

About Mel

Montreal queer fiction writer.

Leave a Reply

