Posted on

A Touch Of Rain coming soon!

a_touch_of_rain_400x600

Last year’s climate, all of the backward talk, double talking jive and deterioration of human dignity, burst the last of my bubbles. The Idealist in me died a long agonizing death, but like Romain Gary’s beautiful short story about a man who decides to build a cave under his library during the horrors of WWII and hides out there with his books and unbreakable faith in humankind, refusing to come out until goodness is restored, but then of course dying alone of old age, still waiting… The humanist in me will hang on.

Amidst all of the turmoil of late 2016, I did what I could to keep from becoming a cynical, despairing and angry woman, and sat down to write this simple tale of love and family. Rain and Tristan meet during a time when both guys are going through troubles, one, financially, and the other, emotionally, but though the odds are stacked high against them making it work, they turn to each other and let themselves be seen for who they are: as vulnerable men doing their best in a world that is getting tougher and tougher to understand. With the support of their loving and devoted friends, Tristan and Rain build on what they have and somehow that turns out to be just enough.

The optimism and positive vibes I felt when writing these guys surprised me because I never had that kind of family or support. I made it up as I went along, writing what I wish I could have known and it repaired something inside me.

I sort of learned that sometimes, simply imagining a better place for someone else, even a fictional character, tricks your brain into believing it could be possible for you too. 🙂

The novel comes out with JMS Books on Feb 18th. I hope you check it out!

Thank you for still reading books. Readers are PRECIOUS people.

Mel

xxx

About Mel

Montreal queer fiction writer.

Leave a Reply

